It’s not often that you can say…

I finished writing my book today!

To finish a book manuscript is a satisfying and exciting experience. Also rare, unless you’re Stephen King. This morning was one of those times. I have now completed work on my book on John Courtney Murray! That project has been going on for almost three years now, with various interruptions along the way.

(I always start these things thinking they’ll take a few months, maybe a year, but they always go much longer than that. But that’s inevitable, I suppose, when family and the full-time job come first and second on the priority list and the writing takes third. Early mornings are my time for that. I’ve been up around 3:30 or 4:00 each morning this week, for example, because I wanted to get this thing wrapped up this week.)

My working title has been John Courtney Murray: The Most Influential American at Vatican II and His Struggle for the Truth about Religious Freedom. It’s a long subtitle, though, so no telling if it will change. Updates here, of course, as plans for possible publication develop.

I’ve posted here about Fr. Murray (that’s him on the right) from time to time as this project has moved along, because it has been thoroughly enjoyable and fascinating work. Those posts are:

A hell of a story: John Courtney Murray

Progress report: John Courtney Murray

A day at Vatican II: on the road to church teaching on religious freedom

Publication of this book, if it happens, is several months off, of course. In the meantime, while you’re waiting to find out all about his remarkable story, I can think of a few other fine books you might want to consider having by the bedside.

Speaking of bedside, it’s time for bed. I have some sleep to catch up on.

 

Categories: books, John Courtney Murray, my books & articles | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “It’s not often that you can say…

  1. 🎉🎉Congrats!!!🎉🎉🎉

  2. Congratulations Barry! What great news. This sounds like a great book. I am having trouble getting started and your post inspires me, and I am grateful for that. Blessings for you and this work!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers

